Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (2007)
Madame Tussauds Wax Museum is located in the iconic Woodward & Lothrop, or "Woodies" department store building, at 10th and F streets. The 400,000-square-foot flagship store opened in 1887, underwent major renovations between 1902-27, and remained in business until 1996.
The fast track restoration project in 2007 required the derelict building be finished for the tenant in just five months. The extensive structural retrofit involved demolishing and rebuilding the sidewalk vault, which complicated access to the façade and made a tight schedule for the storefront installation.
WEI rebuilt and repaired the structural lintels, cut out and re-pointed mortar joints, cleaned the entire brick exterior, and removed graffiti. Carpentry work included restoring wood sashes, restoring all window frames in place, and removing and rebuilding the storefront. The contractors also refurbished the storefront's pressed tin and repaired and restored the copper roof cornice.
The project won a Merit Award in Historic Resources from the American Institute of Architects' Washington, D.C. chapter in 2008.