The North Carolina State University team of David Skoog (second from right), Winston-Salem, Michael Gron (third from right), St. Petersburg, and Corey Baugham (third from left), Charlotte, claimed the 2008 North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Masonry Design Award. They will share a semester's in-state tuition as their prize.

Also attending the awards ceremony were NCMCA Past President Doug Burton (right) and Philip Szostak (second from left), Szostak Design, Chapel Hill, who served as jurors. The competition also serves as a graded assignment of Professor Patrick Rand's (left) Architectural Construction Systems class at North Carolina State University's College of Design.

The scholarship is named in memory of David, Randy, and Dwayne Sigmon, late active members of NCMCA. This was the eighth year for the NC State/NCMCA design competition.