AEM Elects New Slate of Officers

Dennis Eagan (left), group president of Industrial Power and Equipment of Blount Inc., Zebulon, N.C., has been elected 2007 chairman of the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM). Also elected were First Vice Chairman Glen Tellock, president, Manitowoc Crane Group, Manitowoc, Wisc.; Second Vice Chairman Martin Richenhagen, chairman, president and chief executive officer of AGCO Corp., Duluth, Ga.; Treasurer Duane Wilder, president, Liebherr Construction Equipment Co., Newport News, Va.; and Secretary Dennis Slater, AEM's full-time president.

AEM officers, along with the association's board, set the guidelines and operating policies of the association on behalf of its members. The association is active in many areas, including technical and safety services, market information and equipment statistics, global public policy, trade shows, international support services, education and training, workforce development, and work-site safety/educational materials.

North Carolina Crowns Apprentice Champ

Twenty-eight apprentices from 12 companies competed in the 53rd Annual North Carolina Department of Labor State Fair Masonry Apprentice Contest. The new champion is Marcus Guy Hefner, an apprentice with McGee Brothers Co., Monroe. Participating in the awards ceremony were (from left) Contest Head Judge Doug Burton, Third Place Finisher Chris Sparks, Beam Construction Co., Hefner, Second Place Finisher Joaquin Luauno, Capital City Masonry, Contest Chairman Calvin Brodie, and NC Commissioner of Labor Cherie K. Berry.

St. Louis Association Reveals Design Winners

The Masonry Institute of St. Louis has announced the winners of its Excellence in Masonry Awards. Held every three years, the awards recognize outstanding masonry projects recently constructed on the Missouri side of the St. Louis metro area.

In the Commercial/Industrial/Institutional category, Washington University's Uncas A. Whitaker Building won an Excellence Award for both Design (Shepley Bulfinch Richardson Abbott) and Craftsmanship (Leonard Masonry). Similarly, the university's Earth and Planetary Science Building received Excellence Awards for both Design (Tsoi/Kobus & Assoc.) and Craftsmanship (Leonard Masonry).

In the Rehab/Restoration/Additions category, the historic restoration and lobby renovation of the St. Louis Post Dispatch Building won Excellence Awards for both Design (Duncan Architects) and Craftsmanship (Western Waterproofing/primary mason contractor, and John J. Smith Masonry Co./subcontractor).

In the Single Family Residential category, Laureen Strutman Architects, P.C. received an Excellence Award for Design on the Pool House Private Residence. Spencer Brickwork won an Excellence Award for Craftsmanship on the St. Albans residence (left).

In the Architectural Features category, Wesenberg Architecture and Cohen Hilberry Architecture received an Excellence Award for Design on the Gateway Entrance for Harris-Stowe State University. The Stone Fireplace received an Excellence Award for Craftsmanship (Spencer Brickwork).