The Brick Industry Association is now accepting entries for its 2015 Brick in Architecture Awards. BIA's annual design competition honors outstanding, innovative and sustainable architecture that incorporates clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Due April 30, enter online. Winners will be announced in June.

"The Brick in Architecture Awards program offers the most prestigious juried competition of its kind," said Ray Leonhard, BIA president & CEO. "Architects are inspired by fired clay brick's aesthetic flexibility to match their imagination and desires, and as a material made from abundant natural resources, it's a perfect strategy in sustainable design.”

Architectural and design firms may enter their best projects to be judged by a jury of their peers. Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2010, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible. These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units. An entrant may submit more than one project for consideration, and previously submitted projects can be entered once again as long as they were completed since 2010.

In line with competition rules, entries must be submitted online in one or more of the below categories:

-Commercial (Under $10 Million)
-Commercial (Over $10 Million)
-Education – K-12
-Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
-Health Care Facilities
-Municipal / Government
-Houses of Worship
-Residential – Single Family
-Residential – Multi-Family
-Renovation (Additions)** / Restoration (Restoring)
-Paving & Landscape Projects

 *Includes residence halls & academic/administrative building
**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building. Restoration must include at least 50% clay brick products, which must be new brick placed in the wall.

Judged by a jury of peers, the 2014 Brick in Architecture Awards spanned almost half the country with more than 150 entries and 40 winners in 22 states and Canada, including green building practices that have earned Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) ratings.

For more information contact Tricia Mauer at

About the BIA
Founded in 1934, the Brick Industry Association (BIA) is the nationally recognized authority on clay brick construction representing the nation’s distributors and manufacturers of clay brick and suppliers of related products Website: / Twitter: @BrickIndustry / YouTube: site: /703-620-0010.